Jon Panamaroff President
Peter Boskofsky Vice President
James Carmichael Secretary/Treasurer


Loren Anderson
Candace Branson
Elaine Komm-Enge
Tom Panamaroff
Stephen Parsons
Gordon Pullar, Jr.
Thomas Swensen
Tony Cange


KEF has a small office staffed by four hard-working employees and a Board of Directors that is supportive beyond all means. Each of KEF’s staff members has a unique role in achieving our mission of helping our people achieve their potential through education.

Interested In Serving on the KEF Board?

If you are interested in serving on the KEF Board of Directors, we would be delighted to hear from you. Feel free to call or e-mail us at if you have any questions concerning time commitment, programs, or committees.

Jesse Kreger
Executive Director

As Executive Director of KEF, Jesse is keen to expand educational opportunities for our students – both now and for generations to come. His background includes time spent in project management and real estate development, as well as a stint in advertising for a number of Alaskan clients. Having grown up in Anchorage, Jesse enjoys traveling to his wife’s family home in Port Lions to hunt, fish, and walk in the woods.

Germaine Salmine
Program Manager

Germaine manages and administers student recruitment and retention programs including alumni, mentorship and student networking. She works primarily on project coordination for the Community Mentorship Project (CMP) awarded by the Department of Education ANEP Grant. Germaine received her Bachelor of Arts degree in American Indian Studies from the University of Washington in Seattle. Prior to joining KEF, Germaine worked in a variety of community based organizations and has over 4 years of experience in the non-profit sector. She is an enrolled member of the Tangirnaq Native Village, Lesnoi, Inc. Shareholder and Koniag, Inc. Shareholder. Germaine enjoys the outdoors, spending time with her family and friends and traveling.

Lisa Thomsen
Scholarship/Office Manager

Lisa is the Scholarship/Office Manager and is an enrolled member of both Afognak Native Corporation & Koniag Inc. She is a strong advocate for higher education and lifelong learning. Lisa grew up in Port Lions and received her Bachelor’s Degree in Education from UAA. Lisa has worked for the State of Alaska, U of A Kodiak, Afognak Native Corporation, & Kodiak Area Native Association. She has also co-owned and operated a small business on Kodiak Island for 15 years. Lisa enjoys spending time with her family (especially her two grandchildren), traveling with her husband, fishing and working on her new cabin.

Melissa Berns
Regional Education Coordinator

Melissa works out of KEF’s Kodiak Office with the Community Mentorship Project and connects shareholders and descendants residing on Kodiak Island with resources and support to achieve their educational goals. Melissa comes to KEF from the village of Old Harbor where she grew up and worked on project management, shareholder relations, lands management and community outreach. She is passionate about working with youth, dedicated to a life of learning and passing on cultural knowledge. She brings with her years of experience working with non-profits, grant management, and regional collaboration.  Melissa is an enrolled member of the Alutiiq Tribe of Old Harbor, shareholder of Old Harbor Native Corporation and Koniag Inc. She enjoys spending time with her family & animals in the outdoors hunting, fishing, gathering and gardening.